Embedded Professional Development

DIRECTION:

I’ve had 2 focus areas for our professional growth this year; PLC’s and UDL.

Realizing the need to get creative in how we explore and experience Universal Design for Learning this year, trying to satisfy the requests for relevant, purposeful, and differentiated PD, and wanting to get into classrooms on a more regular basis, I think I’ve come up with a mutually beneficial approach.

COMMITMENT:

You will start to see me in each of your classrooms multiple times throughout the rest of this school year to embed personalized PD during the work day – in real-time, and individualized for you!

I’ve started conducting 5-minute walkthroughs using Katie Novak’s Universal Design for Learning (UDL) look-fors as a reference guide. I’ll note the day, time, activity, a few noticings, and highlight the elements of UDL best practices for inclusive instruction that I see/hear during that 5-minute observation. You will receive a photocopy of the form/notes within 24 hours. This is not evaluative – it is for your personal reflections and professional growth. I’m more than happy to debrief my observations, discuss the notes/form I share with you, or help you dig into the UDL elements that are not yet highlighted (and keep in mind, these are super short snapshots – please don’t expect to have everything highlighted each visit) – just use my calendly link in my email signature to set up a time to touch base.

ALIGNMENT:

I’ll be looking holistically at the trends that arise throughout our K-4 classrooms, share them with the K-4 learning community, and use that to help us determine the next steps in our UDL exploration.

I’m really looking forward to seeing all of you ‘in action’, doing what you love – teaching and learning with, from, and for students!